The 30 Song Challenge

We’re not sticking by the whole theory of “just 30 songs” very well, now are we?

Oh well. It’s more fun this way.

I was unofficially tagged by Lalaithiel and Victoria. So, thanks guys!

Here’s the song quiz-y thing.

 

Your favorite song

It changes quite frequently. But at the moment I like More of You (Colton Dixon), Flaming Red Hair (Howard Shore) (discovered yesterday, actually) and A Wink and a Smile (Harry Connick Jr.).

 

Your least favorite song

Matthew and Son (Cat Stevens)

Don’t ask.

The Many and the Few (The Klezmatics). This one is just… strange. I like the message and all, but in the words of my dad: “It sounds like a drunk Irish singing competition”.

Syllables, guys. They’re kind of important.

 

 

A song that makes you happy

La Da Dee (Cody Simpson), Everything is Awesome and Test Drive

 

A song that makes you sad

Dust in the Wind (Kansas) and Words Remain (Josh Garrels).

 

A song that reminds you of someone

It’s Not Over Yet (For King & Country) and That’s Amore (Dean Martin)

The second was the result of the most awesome lip sinc ever. XD

 

A song that reminds you of somewhere

Different Drum (Blanca), Minnie the Moocher (Cab Calloway) and Stagger Lee (Huey Lewis)

 

A song that reminds you of a certain event

Nothing Can Stop Me Now (Mark Holman) and Speak Life (TobyMac)

 

A song that you know all the words to

It’s actually more rare when I don’t know all the words to a song…

Let’s see… Fight Another Day. Because I haven’t done any Addison Road songs yet.

 

A song that you can dance to

Most proficiently? I’m On My Way (The Proclaimers)

 

A song that makes you fall asleep

Beethoven’s 5 Secrets (The Piano Guys)

It doesn’t make me fall asleep, though. Sheesh. It’s just nice and relaxing.

 

A song from your favorite band

I don’t really like a whole lot of bands, per say. So choosing a favorite would be strange. I like Kansas, kinda. So Chasing Shadows.

 

A song from a band you hate

I really have no clue. XP

 

A song that is a guilty pleasure

The Great Pretender (The Platters). It’s a little goofy and melodramatic, but I like it for some reason. 😛

 

A song that no one would expect you to love

This one took me a while.

I really like Behold The Lord High Executioner.

 

A song that describes you

See above song. No, I’m kidding. XP

Hmm… hard one. I’ve never really heard a song and gone “Oh, that’s so me.”

Maybe Roman and Alaina’s Last Forest?

Or I’ll just go without words. The Legend Spreads. I love that one. 🙂

 

A song that you used to love but now hate

Let It Go. I know Victoria said the same thing, but when this many people geek out over one song so much, it’s a bit of a turnoff for me. 😛

 

A song that you hear often on the radio

Overcomer (Mandisa)

 

A song that you wish you heard on the radio

Everything is Awesome. Just… for the commodity of it.

 

A song from your favorite album

Run Wild, Live Free, Love Strong (For King & Country). It’s the name of the song and the album. Ha.

 

A song that you listen to when you’re angry

Um… I never really stay angry long enough to listen to a song. And picking songs isn’t at the top of my priority list when I’m mad, really.

 

A song that you listen to when you’re sad

Hang On Little Tomato (Pink Martini)

 

A song that you listen to when you’re happy

All of Me (The Piano Guys)

Seriously, it’s a bit of a tradition now.

Oh, gosh. I’m happy. Quick where’s my iPod! I need to play my happy song!

 

A song that you want to play at your wedding

Life With You (The Proclaimers), All About Us (He is We) (<that video is great, by the way) aaaaand something ridiculous. I’ll think about it. 😛

 

A song that you want to play at your funeral

o_O I’ve never asked this question. Should I have?

 

A song that makes you laugh

Anything from Les Mis. Anything. Seriously, if everyone is dutifully cleaning the kitchen/doing schoolwork/making dinner and you turn on Les Mis, everything comes to a halt and everyone starts dramatically lip syncing whatever it is.

And Tit Willow from the Mikado. Because I saw an absolutely brilliant performance of it.

 

A song that you can play on an instrument

Thou Be My Vision (Kemper Crabb), Pineapple Rag, and Cantina Band. One for each of my instruments.

 

A song that you wish you could play

Maple Leaf Rag. Working on it, actually. I like ragtime.

 

A song in a foreign language that you like

Bum Bum (The Meshorerim Choir) and Baba Yetu (Christopher Tin)

 

A song from your childhood

Rufus Xavier Sarsaparilla, Chickery Chick, Swingin’ On A Star and Der Fuehrer’s Face.

The last three as a result of a Stage Door Canteen tape that we had.

 

Your favorite song at this time last year

Dead Man’s Dance (Bradford Loomis)

 

I tag…

SprinkleSquink

and 

images-1

You.

Go. Do it.

Have fun with it!

What are some of you favorite songs? Do we share any?

Please comment!

~writefury

13 responses to “The 30 Song Challenge

    • I’m glad to have been fun. 🙂 *bows dramatically*
      Yeah, especially with the knowledge that, within the context of the story, the whole point of the song is incorrect. I mean, that was like the LOW point in Elsa’s character arc, guys. Stop idolizing it.

    • You should! It’s really fun. Especially looking around at everyone else’s. I’M FINDING SO MANY GOOD SONGS. I really liked Billy Boyd’s “The Last Goodbye” on Victoria’s. I haven’t even seen LotR and I was getting feels. And now I’m curious, too.
      Why was Pippin crying? He’s breaking my heart, even though it was like a five second clip.
      Same. XD there’s a lot of good Irish music, but that song… Really. I mean, if they put just a LITTLE more effort into the lyrics…

          • I don’t know. I haven’t seen the Hobbit yet!
            The other one is actually taken directly from Tolkien’s work.
            CAKE AND PILLOW FIGHTS ON THE TARDIS X-D

          • Me either. I sorta-kinda want to someday. BUT THAT SONG. *loves it rather tearfully because it’s sad*
            Oh goodness. XD that’s a great mental image. Pippin, Cobalt and the Doctor, all duking it out with pillows on that Tardis. XDDD
            “The winner gets cake, guys!”
            *fighting escalates*

Any thoughts?

